Katie Capella.jpg
Message from the Principal

 

Dear families,

 

On behalf of the founders, board of trustees, faculty, and staff of Central Brooklyn Ascend Lower School, I extend a warm welcome! We recognize that you chose where to enroll your scholar— one of the most important decisions you will make as a parent or guardian—and we are honored that you have selected Central Brooklyn Ascend. Your choice represents your faith in us, and we are firmly committed to maintaining your trust. 

 

We look forward to working with you to fulfill our vision of educational excellence for every scholar, understanding that your support is crucial to our success. Research has revealed a clear link between family involvement and academic performance, and we seek to leverage that power to realize each child’s full potential. 

 

Thank you for choosing Central Brooklyn Ascend Lower School. We have an exciting and productive year ahead of us! 

 

Sincerely, 

Katie Capella, Principal 

 

Our approach

Our leadership team

 

Principal

Katie Capella

katherine.capella@ascendlearning.org


Assistant Principal of Operations

Dominique Artamin

dominique.artamin@ascendlearning.org

 

Assistant Principal, Grade K

Shante Robinson

shaunte.robinson@ascendlearning.org

Assistant Principal Grade 1, 3

Michelle Kaba

michelle.barrett@ascendlearning.org

Assistant Principal Grade 2 & 4

Albert Lowe

albert.lowe@ascendlearning.org

Operations Team
 
Operations Manager  

Anadely Ortiz

anadely.ortiz@ascendlearning.org

Operations Associate

Erica Hamilton

erica.hamilton@ascendlearning.org

 

Our approach

Our staff

Kindergarten


KA- West Chester University

Patricia Bell

patricia.bell@ascendlearning.org

Imani Thomas

imani.thomas@ascendlearning.org

 

 

KB- Lincoln University

Jennifer Barthemy

jennifer.barthemy@ascendlearning.org

Guiane Baker

guiane.baker@ascendlearning.org

KC- NC State University

Madison Weidner

madison.weidner@ascendlearning.org

Alisa Bryant

alisa.bryant@ascendlearning.org

Grade 1

1A- Boston University

Kianna Odom

kianna.odom@ascendlearning.org

 

 

 

1B- Spelman College

Shanell Roberts

shanell.roberts@ascendlearning.org

Erika Carter
erika.carter@ascendlearning.org 

1C- University of Pittsburgh

Ankita Dewan

ankita.dewan@ascendlearning.org

Victoria Ennab

victoria.ennab@ascendlearning.org

Grade 4

4A- Florida International University (FIU)

Angie Montalvo

angie.montalvo@ascendlearning.org

4B- City College of New York

Samson Sosanya

samson.sosanya@ascendlearning.org 

4C- Syracuse University

Mashawnna Snead

mashawnna.snead@ascendlearning.org

Grade 3

3A- Fordham University

Kai Hollander

Kai.Hollander@ascendlearning.org

3B- University of Buffalo

Amya Carmichael

amya.carmichael@ascendlearning.org

3C- Hofstra University

Lauren Howe

Lauren.Howe@ascendlearning.org

Mentor Teacher, Gr. 2-4

Arkeeda Jones

arkeeda.jones@ascendlearning.org

Meet the CBACS Student Services Support Team here

Grade 2

2A- University of Hawaii

Arielle Hensley

arielle.hensley@ascendlearning.org

Laverne Paul

laverne.paul@ascendlearning.org

2B- Adelphi University

Melinda Wong

melinda.wongascendlearning.org

2C- Skidmore Colleg

Angelica Laburda

angelica.laburda@ascendlearning.org

Meet the CBACS SPECIALS Team here

Specials 

Science

Micah Gardner, Gr. K-2

micah.gardner@ascendlearning.org

Shakirah Cubia, Gr. 3-4

shakirah.cubia@ascendlearning.org 

Capoeira - Brazilian Martial Arts

Leanardo Da Silva

leandro.dasilva@ascendlearning.org

Chess

Byron Downer

byron.downer@ascendlearning.org

Mindfulness /Yoga

Long-Term Substitute Teacher - Ms. Lyam

Student Services

Interim Student Services Coordinator

Rebecca Dolfi

rebecca.dolfi@ascendlearning.org

School Counselor

Rebecca Goldman

rebecca.goldman@ascendlearning.org

Social Worker

Jessica Cohen

jessica.cohen@ascendlearning.org

SETSS/Intervention Team

SpEd Teacher, SETSS/Intervention,  Gr. K-2

Rebecca Dolfi

rebecca.dolfi@ascendlearning.org

SpEd Teacher, SETSS/Intervention,  Gr. 2-3

Kristen Davis

kristen.davis@ascendlearning.org

SpEd Teacher, SETSS/Intervention, Gr. 3-4

Melissa Ogden

melissa.ogden@ascendlearning.org 

ENL Teacher, Gr. K-4

Seraphine Lin

seraphine.lin@ascendlearning.org 

Culture

Culture Associates

Rashaan Bailey

rashaan.bailey@ascendlearning.org

Culture Associates

Jamilia Kelly

jamilia.kelly@ascendlearning.org

 

Meet our CBACS
Culture Associate