Message from the Principal

 

Dear families,

 

On behalf of the founders, board of trustees, faculty, and staff of Central Brooklyn Ascend Lower School, I extend a warm welcome! We recognize that you chose where to enroll your scholar— one of the most important decisions you will make as a parent or guardian—and we are honored that you have selected Central Brooklyn Ascend. Your choice represents your faith in us, and we are firmly committed to maintaining your trust. 

 

We look forward to working with you to fulfill our vision of educational excellence for every scholar, understanding that your support is crucial to our success. Research has revealed a clear link between family involvement and academic performance, and we seek to leverage that power to realize each child’s full potential. 

 

Thank you for choosing Central Brooklyn Ascend Lower School. We have an exciting and productive year ahead of us! 

 

Sincerely, 

Shani Foster

Principal 

 

Our approach

Our leadership team

 

Principal

Shani Foster

shani.foster@ascendlearning.org


Assistant Principal of Operations

Dominique Artamin

dominique.artamin@ascendlearning.org

 

Principal in Residence

Assistant Principal, Grade 3

Christina Pena

christina.pena@ascendlearning.org

 

Assistant Principal, Grade K-2

Garensha Sanon

garensha.sanon@ascendlearning.org

 

Assistant Principal Grade 2 & 4

Albert Lowe

albert.lowe@ascendlearning.org

Operations Team
 
Operations Manager  

Joana Vargas

joana.vargas@ascendlearning.org

Operations Associate

Mark Manansala

mark.manansala@ascendlearning.org

 

Our approach

Our staff

Kindergarten


KA- Saint Michael's College

Patricia Bell

patricia.bell@ascendlearning.org

Jennifer Burke

jennifer.burke@ascendlearning.org

 

KB- Brooklyn College

Octavia Jackson

octavia.jackson@ascendlearning.org

Derrick Shaw

derrick.shaw@ascendlearning.org

 

KC- University of Pittsburgh

Daryan Barnes

daryan.barnes@ascendlearning.org

Ankita Dewan

ankita.dewan@ascendlearning.org

Grade 1

1A- Boston University

Kianna Odom

kodom@ascendlearning.org  

Caroline Yaksich

caroline.yacksich@ascendlearning.org

1B- SUNY New Paltz

Victoria Ennab

victoria.ennab@ascendlearning.org

Daisy Poliandro

victoria.ennab@ascendlearning.org

1C- Hunter College

Estelle Chough

estelle.chough@ascendlearning.org

Shanell Roberts

shanell.roberts@ascendlearning.org

Grade 2

2A- Bowie State University

Kristen Davis

kristen.davis@ascendlearning.org

Kate Hildreth

kate.hildreth@ascendlearning.org

2B- Susquehanna University (SU)

Arielle Hensley

arielle.hensley@ascendlearning.org

2C- Skidmore Colleg

Angelica Laburda

angelica.laburda@ascendlearning.org

Meet the CBACS SPECIALS Team here

Grade 4

4A- Florida International University (FIU)

Angie Montalvo

angie.montalvo@ascendlearning.org

Samson Sosanyo

samson.sosanyo@ascendlearning.org 

4B- Brooklyn College

Mashawnna Snead

mashawnna.snead@ascendlearning.org

4C- Morgan State University

Michelle Barrett

michelle.barrett@ascendlearning.org

Charline Setrana

charline.setrana@ascendlearning.org

Grade 3

3A- Old Westbury

Janice Hansen

janice.hansen@ascendlearning.org

Lauren Howe

Lauren.Howe@ascendlearning.org

3B- Adelphi University

Melinda Wong

melinda.wongascendlearning.org

3C- Pace University

Breanna Knebel

breanna.knebel@ascendlearning.org

Mentor Teacher, Gr. 2-4

Arkeeda Jones

arkeeda.jones@ascendlearning.org

 

Student Services

Student Services Coordinator

Aileen Camejo

aileen.camejo@ascendlearning.org

School Counselor

Rebecca Goldman

rebecca.goldman@ascendlearning.org

Social Worker

Emily Uhar

emily.uhar@ascendlearrning.org

SETSS/Intervention Team

SpEd Teacher, SETSS/Intervention,  Gr. K-2

Rebecca Dolfi

rebecca.dolfi@ascendlearning.org

SpEd Teacher, SETSS/Intervention, Gr. 3-4

Melissa Ogden

melissa.ogden@ascendlearning.org 

ENL Teacher, Gr. K-4

Seraphine Lin

seraphine.lin@ascendlearning.org 

Specials 

Science

Mentor Teacher, Grades K-2

Freddie Santana

freddie.santana@ascendlearning.org

Sasha Fisher , Gr. K-2

sasha.billings@ascendlearning.org

Micah Gardner, Gr. K-2

micah.gardner@ascendlearning.org

Shakirah Cubia, Gr. 3-4

shakirah.cubia@ascendlearning.org 

Capoeira - Brazilian Martial Arts

Leanardo Da Silva

leandro.dasilva@ascendlearning.org

Chess

Byron Downer

byron.downer@ascendlearning.org

Mindfulness /Yoga

Guiane.Baker

guiane.baker@ascendlearning.org

Culture

Culture Associate/Mentor Teacher Grades K-4

April Shiver

april.shiver@ascendlearning.org

 

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle